Sealing In The Moisture: Oils Curly Girls Must Have

Hey Curlfriends,

We curly girls know how important it is for us to make sure our hair is and stays moisturized. If not, our hair can become dry and prone to breakage.  A HUGE no no! The best sealant you can use to lock in the moisture is a natural oil. I find this to be true at least for my hair type, which is 4b/4c.

Below are a list of Oils that I use in my hair

Olive Oil 

Olive Oil

Olive Oil

First on my list of favourite oils is olive oil. Extra Virgin Olive Oil knows how to WORK the wonders in my hair.

  • Olive oil works great as a hot oil treatment.
  • It’s a really good cheap oil for sealing in moisture.
  • Protects the keratin in hair which increases shine and strength.
  • It penetrates the hair strands by 25% with moisture.

Avocado Oil

Avocado Oil

Avocado Oil

Avocado oil is a little heavier. Certainly heavier than coconut oil and olive oil. I add this into my homemade “Silky Shea Butter Soufflé” and in my “Super Hydrating Deep Conditioner Recipe” Helps tremendously with moisture retention over the winter months.

Some great benefits as to why I add avocado oil

  • It contains Vitamins A and D, protein, magnesium and amino acids. These are all essential for hair health, strength and growth.
  • It makes for a great deep treatment when mixed with your favourite conditioner.

Jojoba Oil 

Jojoba Oil

Jojoba Oil

I’ve been using this oil in my Silky Shea Butter soufflé recipe. Since jojoba is readily accepted by the scalp and doesn’t mess with the scalps natural balance, I use it to I’ve also started using it if I quickly need to smooth my hair down, if my coconut oil is still hardened because of the cold air temperature. I adore the sweet smell of it. Reasons to love it include:

  • Jojoba oil seals in moisture.
  • It increases hair strength from inside out.
  • It adds amazing shine to the hair.
  • It smooths the cuticles and promotes hair growth.

Coconut Oil

Coconut Oil

Coconut Oil

I simply love coconut oil,  and works great as a sealant  for my hair. I use it to seal in the moisture, as well as to deep condition. I do prefer Extra Virgin Coconut Oil.

I use it as an after shower moisturizer ( add to a spray bottle with a few drops of ylang ylang essential oil). Works great and doesn’t leave my skin nor my looking and feeling greasy.

More Coconut Oil added benefits….

  • Using coconut oil on the hair and scalp can promote hair growth, reduce breakage and strengthen the hair shaft.
  • It contains saturated fatty acids and Vitamin E which is great for the hair.
  • It adds amazing shine to the hair.
  • It can improve a dry scalp, and hair loss.
  • It’s light and non-greasy, and can actually penetrate the hair shaft.

Castor Oil

Castor Oil

Castor Oil

Being very active, from exercising to outdoor activities, the elements can cause excessive drying to my hair and scalp., I use a mixture of olive oil and castor oil and my oil rinse after I my shampoo and conditioning treatment.

  • Rich in Vitamin E and essential fatty acids.
  • Provides the minerals needed for strong hair growth.
  • Helps in treating split ends.
  • Tons of moisture.
  • Fights the outdoor elements by coating the hair.

These are just a few of the oils that I currently use and that work well with my hair texture and curl pattern. I would say, if you are trying to decide on an oil to include in your regime, consider the following:

HAIR TIP:

Check your nails. Hanging nails will damage hair. Always make sure your nails are smooth and even before hair styling

Things to Think About: 

If you have very  thick or tightly coiled (4b/4c) hair, your strands might benefit more from a heavier oil, such as avocado or castor oil. Or if you have looser curls, Coconut Oil or Sweet Almond Oil might just do the trick.

Cost – Some oils can be quite expensive, yet still give you the same benefits as others. You just have to find the right affordable alternatives.

Remember your hair is your hair. You just have to experiment and figure out what works for you.

The bottom line is to enjoy the process of learning your hair and being natural.

So which oil do you use to seal in moisture, and how is it working for you?

4 thoughts on “Sealing In The Moisture: Oils Curly Girls Must Have

  1. I have 4C hair but my hair is thin so I can’t do the heavier oils on a daily. Coconut oil is by far my fav – light and moisturizing. I also am falling in love with Jamaican Black Castor Oil tho I simply cannot use it too regular. I do love me some olive oil on my skin tho 😀

    • I tried the Jamaican Black Castor Oil some time ago and I found it extremely thick. That’s just my opinion after using it on my hair. I tend to just mix Castor Oil and Olive Oil and a few drops of Ylang Ylang for a sensual aroma and I use it as both my hair and body oil. Works and smells so good. I would recommend using heavy oils on a daily basis anyway. If your hair is more drying that usual after you deep condition or condition your hair apply a light oil rinse while your in the shower That might help loc in the moisture but at the same time not create such a heavy film that may cause your hair to feel over weighed down.
      Daily I would just go with a little water on those curly tresses at night, a touch of your leave-in conditioner and a small amount of coconut oil. Give those tresses the triple moisture method. Not to mention the coconut oil is light enough to penetrate the hair shaft and lless likely to penetrate those pillowcases. 🙂

  2. Great post on oils for curly heads :). I’ve used all the oils on this list and this was a great reminder. I’m experimenting with Castor oil for moisture retention and hair growth. The good news is I don’t have to moisturize as often. When I apply castor oil I can go two days or so and my hair will hold moisture from the last application. It’s awesome hair food. Thanks for the post.

    • Thank you. I agree with you about castor oil. Over the past several weeks after washing and conditioning my hair, I’ve been using castor oil as my sealant. My hair is shiny and stays moisturized and I can sometimes go two days without having to re-moisturize my hair and I have noticed that with the use of goat milk in my conditioner treatment my hair has become stronger. Definitely keep me updated on how your castor oil hair treatments go. I absolutely love it….and thanks again.

Leave a Reply

