NATURAL HAIR HARD TRUTH: LENGTH vs. HEALTH

Hey Curlfriends,

With so many naturals on YouTube with long hair, and of course, the major companies, milking the natural hair emergence, constantly advertising and showing long hair naturals, it’s no wonder the focus for many naturals is length.

When I first started my natural hair journey, I was all about the length and that was my focus. What products should I use, styles I should wear, and so on. When my hair wasn’t growing as fast as I thought it should, I became frustrated and a couple of times though about just going back to a relaxer and calling it a day. That the natural hair journey wasn’t for me.

Then I realized I was looking at this the wrong way. Yes, I wanted natural long hair but, I should be more concerned and focused on the health of my hair. Believe me, your hair will grow. Just accept what your hair has in store for you as long as you’re taking care of it and keeping it healthy.

Naturally us!! XoXo

Naturally us!! XoXo

Wanting to obtain longer natural hair is a great way to motivate your natural hair journey. It shouldn’t be THE top motivational factor in your natural hair journey. Having healthy hair and understanding how to maintain healthy natural hair, in my opinion, should be the most important.

I want you to think about it like this….

When someone is on the road to losing weight, the healthy way, they change their daily eating habits. They exercise. Everyday is one step at a time. Their focus is being healthy. By them focusing on changing their eating and exercise habits, they will lose weight. We know, not everyones body type or shape is the same, therefore, the results of one person losing weight will not be the results of another person losing weight.

This is the same with your hair.

DETANGLING TIP:  

Finger detangling on 4b/4c hair is a great way to lessen the breakage and shedding, and helps to preserve healthier hair strands.

Your genetics are YOUR genetics. You can’t change that. So embrace what your natural hair journey has in store for you. Focus on the health and condition of your natural tresses. You might be pleasantly surprised at the results.

FYI – I watch so many of my natural “Curlfriends” videos on YouTube to learn what works, what doesn’t work, techniques and overall to support and embrace the change. We CURLY GIRLS are making a statement to the world. That it’s ok to BE NATURAL. That wearing your natural hair out in publicis BEAUTIFUL, and that BEAUTY IS what you make it.

 

Happy HEALTHY Hair Journey

Your Curlfriend,

XoXo – Tee

No Make Up! No Filter! Beauty is Confidence. Beauty IS......!!! -XoXo - Tee

No Make Up! No Filter! Beauty is Confidence. Beauty IS……!!! -XoXo – Tee

Beauty Is Natural! XoXo -Tee

Beauty Is Natural! XoXo -Tee

 

QUESTION:

What are some of your natural hair tips? Share and Tell with us in the comment section below!

5 thoughts on “NATURAL HAIR HARD TRUTH: LENGTH vs. HEALTH

  1. Length is my focus and what you focus on you obtain. With my hair no way for me to obtain length without my hair being healthy. So healthy hair is a given with my hair to obtain length. It does not even have to be said. People seem to think if a person wants length they are overlooking health and that is not true they go together.

    • Very happy to hear that you have focus and you definitely seemed determined. I don’t know about “people” but I feel that some naturals overlook the reality of how long it takes for our natural hair to grow. They focus on length so much they don’t truly get to know what works for their hair. They over use products, thinking it’s healthy for their hair, when it could actually slow the growth process. So I’m just expressing that understanding the health of ones hair and the products they use can in fact help them with growth. Opinions are always welcomed. They’re the reason facts exist. Thank you for your feedback and please feel free to share you natural hair techniques and products you use. XoXo

Leave a Reply

