Silky Shea Butter Hair Soufflé

Just an FYI– My hair texture is a blend of 4b/4c.

Love my twist outs

-RoyalTeeZone

When I first decided to go all natural , I’ve heard so many amazing things about Shea Butter. Pure unrefined shea butter. How it’s amazing for the hair.

At first I didn’t find this to be true for me. Applying Raw Unrefined Shea Butter by itself seemed a bit drying to my hair.

The one major reason I enjoy watching videos, reading articles, blogs, from other naturals, their journey and products, is that I’m always learning something new. What to try, What not to try, ect.

I’ve experimented with Shea butter in my hair and found that, the moisture soft and shiny hair results, that other naturals have experienced using it, didn’t have that same effect on me. I still felt that it left my hair a bit more on the dry side.  I knew that Shea Butter had many great properties and great benefits for the skin and hair. So I was determined to find a way to make it work for me.

So I did some research and over time, I’ve come up with an all natural mixture that works AMAZINGLY in my hair. Less breakage when I manipulate my hair. My hair feels very soft and shiny that last more than a day. I especially add this into my regimen when I’m wearing styles such as twist-outs, braid-outs, using my curl formers, or perm rod curly styles.  My hair in these styles, where the ends are exposed to the elements,  stay soft and shiny for more than a day and for me being very active and working out at the gym as much as I do, it’s a big deal.

I want you to understand that what works for me may not work for you. This has been my experience over the year with my natural hair growing journey. Being active and working out, I needed to find products that suited my hair type and lifestyle.

I find that learning from other naturals with similar hair types such as mine and products they use, and works for them, there could be some element or ingredient within their regimen that could work for me.

So from trials and experimenting, I finally found an all natural shea butter mixture that my hair enjoys. I call it my Silky Shea Butter Soufflé. It works very well. Below are the measurements and ingredients I use.  I hope you find this helpful. If you do try my recipe, please let me know how it worked for you.

Ingredients: 

Unrefined Shea Butter – 1/2 cup

Aloe Vera Gel – 1 Tbsp

Coconut Oil – 1/2 Cup

Vegetable Glycerin – 1 Tbsp

Ylang Ylang Essential Oil – 4 Drops

Lemon Essential Oil – 3 Drops

Vitamin E Oil – 1 tsp

Silky Shea Butter Souffle

Silky Shea Butter Souffle

IMG_4694

XoXo – Tanya

4 thoughts on “Silky Shea Butter Hair Soufflé

  1. That’s so funny…I was just posting about how I plan to give up my “out” styles like twist outs and puffs because of the breakage (from dried out ends). Usually when I wear my twist outs my ends are shot by the end of the day, but I’m going to try this soufflé mixture. Hopefully it works for me, it looks like we have similar hair texture! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    • So glad you decided to stop by. You should definitely take a look at my latest post on my latest deep conditioner that I have found to work brilliantly with my hair texture.
      Let me know what you think?

      Your Curlfriend,
      Tee XOXO

  2. I have felt Shea Butter to be too heavy for my hair because I have thin hair. But I’ve found that once its whipped, it works fine! I don’t make my own whipped shea butter but buy it locally from another natural. Works great! Yours looks lovely too.

  3. Pingback: Sealing In The Moisture: Oils Curly Girls Must Have | The RoyalTee Affair

Leave a Reply

