Inspiration Happens

Over the past few weeks I’ve been working on ways to decorate my new apartment. I want to give it a feel of warmth,  inviting, functional, and draws the eye to say , “WOW THIS IS A GREAT LOOKING APARTMENT and it looks expensive!”  I don’t want to spend a ton of money doing so.  David and I have been working hard to save money. Going out and buying expensive furniture to achieve the look that I’m going for just isn’t going to happen. So what do you do?  I’ll tell you.

UNLOCKING MY DIY:

On my way home from visiting my boyfriend’s parents, I saw a sign that said Vintage and Consignment Shop. I didn’t pay much attention to it and passed right by it. A couple days later, my neighbor, whom I’ve become friends with, and I,  had a discussion about what I wanted for my apartment.  I told her that  I love vintage items, that I’m pretty handy and that I do have an eye for design, and I want to save money. She said, “I have a great idea!” She thought that we should head to a vintage shop and a few consignment shops. I’ve never been to one before. I was ok with that. So guess we’re we ended up. We went to the consignment and vintage store I passed several days before.
While walking around the shop I didn’t see much that appealed to me, but then it hit me, I thought, what if I just searched around for some old pieces of furniture that I can buy at a decent price and refresh to give it that elegant vintage feel that I was going for and save some money.  Now looking around the shop became a totally different feel. I didn’t find anything to my liking that day, but, the employees told me that they get in new items every day so stop back often.

We got some vintage beat up end tables from David’s aunt whose 96 years old and I saw some potential in refreshing them that would make them fabulous. We saw those beat up end tables before and I thought they were old and not going to work for me. Once opening up my creative and inspirational side of my artist mind, those end tables were perfect.

It seems DIY projects have been in my mental storage box and I just needed to find the key to open that box and unleash the goodies

The Results:

So I started a blog on Decorating and Refreshing Furniture in which I call it “Inspiration Happens!”  

I’ll be starting my blog with the refreshing of those vintage beat up end tables I got from David’s 96 year old aunt. I hope my inspirations of design and refreshing furniture inspires others to channel into their creative minds and do the same.

Here’s the link – http://inspiredbyroyaltee.wordpress.com/about/

 

Leave a Reply

