What You Eat is Everything

Since starting my “getting fit for me” work out and diet regimen, I feel as if I’ve found a true healthy way of living. Doing things at my own pace and seeing results is such a wonderful motivator for me. Now I did take a before photo of myself and once I reach my planned goal weight I’ll post them. I know that’s pretty vague, but I want to stay focused and not have to worry about the pressure of feeling as if it’s a competition or a race. I’ve found that when you’re trying to lose weight and eat healthy and you put yourself on a time clock to do so, if you’re not seeing the results your looking for in that time frame, you give up. Sometimes even gaining more weight than when you first started you’re diet and exercise regimen. I speak from experience. Don’t worry, I’ll post those before and after photos in time.

I’m sticking with my “Getting fit for me” way of life. It’s working and it feels empowering.
So you might be asking, what am I doing? What am I eating? Great questions.

20130728-090523.jpg

Let’s start with my diet. That old myth that eating healthy taste like sh*t, is just that, a myth. There are so many good foods that not only help to target problem areas of the body and encourage weight loss, but are also very tasty. 3 meals a day, 2 snacks, and plenty of water. The meals are filling.
Below is an example of a few of my meals.

Breakfast

Breakfast Blackberry Honey Almond Smoothie

20130728-084031.jpg

1/2 cup almond milk
1/2 cup plain non fat yogurt
1/2 cup frozen blackberries
1/2 banana
1 tsp of honey
2 tsp of flax seed
Pinch of cinnamon

Lunch
Spinach Salad
Toss together 2 cups fresh spinach,
1 TBSP each toasted walnuts, blue cheese, and dried cherries,
1 sliced hard-boiled egg,
2 tsp walnut oil,
and 1 tsp balsamic vinegar.

Snack
Atkins snack bar.

Dinner
Chicken Pasta

20130728-085354.jpg
Combine 4 oz grilled chicken and 1 1/2 cups broccoli rabe sautéed with 2 tsp extra-virgin olive oil, 1 minced garlic clove,
1/2 tsp minced red chili,
1/2 tsp orange zest.
Serve over 1/2 cup whole-wheat penne.

My fitness regimen is a mixture of either doing a 30-40 minute jog on the treadmill at the gym or if I don’t have time for the gym I have locked into my ‘Favorite’ section on Youtube, Fitnessblender.com exercise programs. Like body bootcamp, which is my favorite to lightweight work outs.There are so many different exercises with amazing instruction and clarity it’s like having you own nurturing personal trainers.

That’s it. I mix up my meals a bit and I also make healthy juices. Juices like GREEN JUICE, or my Carrot Revive Elixir. I’ll share my juicing recipes next time.

20130728-090431.jpg

20130728-091054.jpg

Leave a Reply

